Borges and the internet

Sérgio Rodrigues, a Brazilian writer, at his page Todoprosa, have written a post asking “where is the iPod for books or a similar device? Nobody have invented it yet…why?”. Immediately I thought, I would love to have one! I could put it on the bookshelf between my Book of Sand and my Libro de arena. I could make a kind of shrine in vellum, with engraved golden letters, as I do with my books – I change the covers when I do not like them.

Back to internet, to new technologies and to Borges – I ask myself: if Borges were alive and lucid of course, would he recognise his “book of sand” on internet?

The line consists of an infinite number of points; the plane, of an infinite number of lines; the volume, of an infinite number of planes; the hypervolume, of an infinite number of volumes…

  • If on a sleepless dawn a traveller arrive here and know in other languages (I have it in Portuguese and Spanish) this initial phrase from the Book of Sand, I shall have great pleasure to add to this post. I do regret to inform that I have even an exemplar of black letter of Wyclif…
Deixe um comentário

